Slowly But Surely Making My Own Clothes

At the start of this year I made a promise to myself to make more of my clothes.I had purchased the brilliant book ‘Stylish Dress Book’ by Yoshiko Tsukiori which includes 26 full size patterns in sizes 6 – 16 all the clothes are unstructured just how I like them to be plus that makes them easier for me to make !
My first dress was a simple sleeveless dress (no zips) which I chose to make out of some lovely denim I had bought and it also made the dress suitable for the winter as I could layer a long sleeved t-shirt underneath it.The dress is perfectly casual and a good one to start with,yes my top stitching could have been neater in places and making the bias binding was a pain,but really well worth it.I am now going to make it in a black linen as I wear the other one so much plus make it in the next size down as the sizes come out slightly larger than I expected.
blog 13 022

blog 13 018
After I have made the linen dress I am going to make the dress with shoulder accent for the summer.This one will be slightly more involved and then there are at least three more I wish to make before the summer.At the same time I have my folksy shop to keep stocked and the launch of my web site and the craft shop in my town that stock my bunting and aprons.So there are busy times ahead and I am starting work on some bags to go with my purses and make up bags that I make.But I am loving being busy and happy to be able to do what I do.

blog 13 028
Last Saturday the sun was shining and we decided to go for a long walk along our local beach.We bought ice creams,watched the waves and listened to the seagulls squawking about.It blew all the cob webs away and it left us all full of energy and happy to live where we do with the beach nearly on our doorstep and the countryside just a short drive away.
blog 13 013

blog 13 016
Now back to sorting out the website so thank you once again for taking the time to read this post.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. It was my pleasure to be here and to read this post.

    Like

  2. Shanda says:

    Love the dress!!
    I also loved this line: “It blew all the cob webs away and it left us all full of energy and happy to live” … that is EXACTLY how I felt today, it’s a very very early spring day, still lots of snow on the ground, but warm enough to get outside and not freeze, to enjoy the fresh air!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Yes you have to get outside and blow those cobwebs away.I didn’t have the snow though thank goodness !!

      Like

Leave a Reply

