Making dress number 2

Well I have started with making my second dress (first dress this year).I chose a beautiful black linen,so no pattern matching here,and a beautiful simple design.I love tunic style dresses I think they are flattering as well as comfortable.Because I am tall (nearly 6 ft) I find it difficult to find dresses that are the correct length for me so making my own makes sense.
Even though I sew all the time for my local craft shop,my daughters clothes when she was younger and now in my new Etsy shop I still struggle with making adult clothes as everything else I make is on a much smaller scale.But making purses,bunting and more has given me a lot of practice and I know my way around a sewing machine with my eyes closed (not that I do sew with my eyes closed !!!)
dress  makingblog 22 002
I had to trace the pattern first and then cut it out.
dress  makingblog 22 006
I then pinned and re-pinned the pattern on to my fabric allowing for length and hems after checking my measurements over and over again.Its boring time consuming but so so important.So if its wrong I can only blame myself.

dress  makingblog 22 008

and then after more checking I took the first cut….no going back now.

dress  makingblog 22 010

dress  makingblog 22 012

Then I had to call it a day as I am helping the teen to revise for his Science exams and still have a lot more stock to make.Tomorrow I will put in the darts make the bias binding and maybe if times on my side a little bit more.The dress really needs to be finished by Friday as the Easter Holidays start so my time will not be my own.Are any of  you making any of your own clothes?

Any way thanks for popping by and hope you have a fun filled day.Tabitha

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanda says:

    So far so good! I’ll be looking forward to seeing how it turns out. I love linen fabric, we have linen sheets and they are our favorites. I don’t make my own clothes but my Mom learned to sew in H.S. and she has done a lot of sewing through the years for herself and us girls.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jana says:

    You asked, so here is my answer: I am just about to start making my own cloths… So close now. Maybe in a few years. 😉 No, seriously. I really plan to sew something for me but always end up making something for my son. Wish your son good luck with the Science exams. Science is sooo important! (says the scientist) Have a lovely day, Jana

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jana I will wish him luck.Its good to make something for yourself though so get the pattern out and sew !!! 🙂 Have a good day, Tabitha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Creatopath says:

    I really like the pattern. It’s going to look lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

