Busy Covering Chairs Shabby Chic Style

I love a good look around second hand shops and car boot sales for all sorts of goodies including fabrics old and new.The other week whilst checking a second hand shop out I found some gorgeous old curtain fabric off cuts for a couple of pounds and I new straight away what I could do with it.My dining room chairs needed covering as they were a little tired looking and I like to put my own spin on things.The fabric was slightly faded and one had a light green background and the other a cream background but both had the same pattern on them so ideal for a mix and match shabby chic style.Now I do like a bit of Shabby Chic by Rachel Ashwell and have most of her books which I find constant inspiration from,for me sitting in a comfortable chair with a cup of tea and one of her books is my ideal.So these chairs are inspired by her lovely books.
chair covering 026
I had removed the chair seats and made a rough template of it and then got cutting and tacking and raided the hubs tool box (think I would like one of my own).
chair covering 009
chair covering 007
So quick and simple,I will admit that underneath could look a little better but I wont tell if you wont !!Then it was a matter of fixing them back onto the legs and add a bit of decorative detail along the back for a slightly more professional look.
chair covering 020
It took me a few hours and several strong coffees but well worth it.What do you think ?
chair covering 012
chair covering 010
It rained all day yesterday so it was the right kind of day for this job.My fingers feel a little tender as I did hit them with the hammer by accident a couple of times.Now I am on the look out for some plain fabric to cover my reading chair in as I covered that five or six years ago and its getting a little worn.I am not by far the best at upholstery but for some jobs I can just about pull it off I wouldn’t recover my sofas or anything big like that but the smaller jobs are fine.
Today I shall be busy cleaning my kitchen and pottering in the garden plus maybe a little more sewing for the shop as I want to get everything done as tomorrow is my Birthday and I don’t really want to be doing housework I wan’t to chill and have a lovely relaxing time.So I hope you all have a good day and thanks again for having a read 🙂 Tabitha

12 Comments Add yours

  1. aseparovic says:

    Awesome! I’m about to try re upholstering a chair myself and your post came at the perfect time. Thanks for sharing and Happy Birthday for tomorrow. Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Amy and hope the chair goes well ☺ Tabitha

      Like

  2. How inspiring! The chairs look fantastic.
    Happy birthday for tomorrow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the Birthday wishes 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon - says:

    You’ve done a brilliant job! I hope your fingers soon recover 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chaoticitzi says:

    It looks really nice and very professional! Well done! That job always intimidates me, that why I stick to all wooden chairs! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I don’t blame you I would prefer all wooden dining chairs as easier for me to keep clean 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Shanda says:

    Great job on the chairs! I remember my Mom reupholstering our old dining room chairs. I have a shabby chic article in my scrapbook and I like to buy her bedding for the girls at Target. Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you.We don’t have Target in the UK I wish we did & thanks for the Birthday wishes ☺

      Like

  6. Creatopath says:

    Very stylish. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

