Handmade Tote bag for my daughter

My daughter has gone on and on about needing a new bag for school,there is nothing wrong with her rucksack except that isn’t what every one else in her little group of friends is carrying. Apparently it is all about tote bags and bags that just don’t look like school bags.Now I said no to handbag style bags (she still is only twelve) but I also remember how important it is to feel you fit in at school.So I agreed to make her a tote for days when it isn’t raining and there is no P.E.I had found some lovely thick canvas type of material for a few pounds in a second hand shop a few weeks ago and it seemed to be the ideal fabric to use.I did not make a lining as the fabric is quite thick and I didn’t have anything suitable.The pattern was from a Cath Kidston book I had been given for Christmas which I tweaked a bit to suit my purpose.
I cut out all the pieces out first….
tote bag 001
I was really pleased with how the corners came out,I then added a pocket and re enforced and neatened all the seams….
tote bag 005
"tote<br

tote bag 009
tote bag 010

tote bag 008

bag 006″ width=”660″ height=”495″ />
My daughter was really pleased with it and spent the next few hours sorting all her school things out to put in her new bag !!

This past weekend has all been about the garden and I ache from all the gardening we have done,but it was well worth it and it’s good exercise. I hope you all had a good weekend too and thanks for having a read 🙂 Tabitha

8 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s great Tabitha! Your daughter now has a lovely one of a kind bag 🙂 I am always pleased when I can re-use fabric from secondhand shops. Sharon x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sharon 😊 You can’t beat one of a kind !!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lula Lucky says:

    ♡ your post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊

      Like

  3. Shanda says:

    It’s so pretty! I would look great with any outfit, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊

      Like

  4. Brilliant! I’d definitely have loved this when I was at school! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

