My first craft fair

Well Sunday was the day for my first ever craft fair and I had spent time working out the layout for my table and priced all my handmade items clearly in advance so I felt in control. The day went very quickly and I enjoyed it,but I only sold one item which is better than nothing but looking on the plus side I handed out leaflets,got feedback on my products and most importantly got to see what other people were selling and how it works for them.There were a few stalls that seemed to do well and like I said I did enjoy it so I am going to do one more in November and I think that is the right amount for me as sitting indoors from 8am to 4pm is just not me and my little Etsy shop is doing well, so I will aim to do two fairs a year so I can meet people in person and introduce them to The Sewing Nook and get feedback on my handmade items and I think that is the best way to go for me.

I worked for hours on Saturday working out the layout  ready for Sunday …..

   
   
I did still manage to enjoy my garden over the weekend….

   
 My cat was bird watching up in the tree thinking of dinner I am sure…

  
Thanks for popping by it’s going to be a busy time as the children have broken up from school for the summer and I have lots of exciting things to list on Etsy and my website will be up and running again soon.So happy making , Tabitha x

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Tabitha. what a shame you didn’t sell more. I guess the experience was great though. How easy is it to sell on Etsy? I love the pic of your cat, he looks so focused! Have a great week. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sharon. I have sold on Folksy before and found that tricky getting found on there even though I sold a couple of bits so I gave Etsy a try back in March and I think it’s so much better & it’s easy to set up shop & everyone has heard of Etsy 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok, great, thanks for that. x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your first market! I’m glad you had a nice time even though you didn’t sell much. I always like to look on the positive side too – just being there is great for networking. Getting to meet and chat to other crafters is always good, and your getting your name out there. I had a really bad market once – didn’t make my stall fee back – but the following week was contacted by a lady who had met me – and she ordered 15 doorstops from me. She’d met me at the market – took my card – and just had to work out how many she needed! So you never know what can come from doing a market! Hopefully you’ll get some follow through sales – or even have people return to see you next time!
    Your stall set up looks great by the way! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I am keeping positive and 15 doorstops that is fab 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know right! I nearly choked when I received her email! Certainly made attending that market worth while! Hopefully good things will come to you too!
        Nic xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Bekki Hill says:

    As others have said, a shame you didn’t sell more, but you never know what contacts you’ll make. Great to hear you’re selling well on Etsy, I know a few people have trouble getting found there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think if you use social media to let people know where you are it’s fine 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bekki Hill says:

        Ah ha! The people who are complaining are expecting people to find then with no directions!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. well that’s how I find it works, for me anyway !

        Liked by 1 person

  4. aseparovic says:

    Congrats on your first fair! Your display looks wonderful. Getting out and about always helps your brand, so keep at it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Shanda says:

    The experience is priceless! Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

