Sewing Bag No.1

Over the last week I have been slowly making myself a sewing bag for when I am out and
about and I have time for a little stitching either when travelling or when at a craft fair or helping out in the craft shop.I needed something large enough to hold whatever project I am working on at the time,my needle and pin case,a pin cushion and a small pair of scissors.I didn’t want it to have a zip or be to rigid as I needed to be able to dip in and out of it without fussing with a zip and it couldn’t be to rigid as I wanted to be able to roll it up and pop it in my handbag.
I started the bag by firstly doing a little hand embroidery on some plain fabric which I then stitched to the fabric for the front of the bag…
sewing bag 001
The fabric I used was from one of my skirts that I had only worn a couple of times and never felt right in.I also used the lining of the skirt to line the bag,I covered a button with the main fabric and stitched on a ribbon to hold the bag in place when rolled up.
sewing bag 003
sewing bag 004
sewing bag 010
sewing bag 008
I like how it has turned out and am planning on making a few for my shop with the added addition of some inside pockets.
In other news the summer house is being delivered a week today and we are doing well on sourcing the items for it. We have been lucky enough to have been able to get most of it for free or second hand,I will never get used to what people throw out.
Yesterday morning we went to the beach and the children had a swim even the teen came down with us and had fun pretending to drown his sister !!! What have you all been doing over the weekend and what sewing/craft plans have you got for the near future ? I have still got to find time to dig out the knitting needles and improve my knitting.Any way thanks for popping by,Tabitha 🙂

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Tajana says:

    I love your bag!! Would you min if I copy the idea in the future?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks,should be ok I am sure they won’t be exactly the same 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tajana says:

        Oh no,not at all!! I like so much the embroidery and it looks so well on a bag. Since I have to make eight of them for Xmas I’d like to personalize them following the style of the girls from my family and friends. Embroidery can be a great ally 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They sound lovely,making eight of them will keep you busy ! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. aseparovic says:

    What a beautiful bag! You’re embroidery is really lovely too 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I am trying hard with the embroidery but I still have a way to go 😊

      Like

  3. Artnunymiss says:

    Very cute, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bekki Hill says:

    Lovely little bag. Definitely an essential.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy-June says:

    So cute! What a great idea!! I just left a project at home which I could have taken on a plane journey for lack of just such a bag! It’s going on my stitch list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah I am glad you like it 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

