Christmas is coming early to The Sewing Nook and a work in progress

Over the last month I have been busy thinking about what I want to make for my Christmas section in my Etsy shop and have been busy stitching away making my festive birds and of course bunting. Now I know there are lots of trends out there for Christmas decorating and I decided not to look into them to much and stay true to myself and my style which is a combination of Boho,Folk,some Nordic style,a little shabby chic and homespun goodness which certainly is a mix but one I find that works for me.
Once I decided to stay true to myself it was easy and so far I have made including my festive folk birds some Nordic style bunting in two colour ways….
Christmas stock 001
Christmas stock 006
Now hearts seem to be popular and have been for a few years now and I have in the past made them in traditional Christmas colours and this year (like last year) I am making them to match the bunting,they can be used to hang on the tree but I use mine to hang from all the door handles in my house upstairs and down to bring a little festive feel all around my home..
Christmas stock 012
Christmas stock 011
Now my home spun work in progress is some bunting with Merry Christmas hand stitched onto some cream fabric in a lovely rich red and then I hope to embroider some holly leaves and back the bunting in a rich gold coloured fabric.Now as you can imagine this is taking a bit of time but I hope to make two for my Etsy shop and at least 3 for the local craft shop in town that sells my bunting and I would very much like one for myself ! Now this is how far I have got to so far and it is my first one…
merry xmas bunting 003
merry xmas bunting 002
I am pleased with it so far,so that is what I am working on every free minute I get. Yesterday I was lucky and was able to work on it for a couple of hours but today I have to send a parcel to America and go and sort my stock in the shop as well as list more on Etsy. So busy,busy here. Are you making any decorations for Christmas and if so what and do you like to follow a trend or do what you are happy with ?
Thanks again for popping by. Tabitha 🙂

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, you have been busy again, it’s all looking great. Decorations are at the bottom of my list at the minute with gifts at the top!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gifts are my next thing but I’m trying not to think about it !!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve had five requests for the same rather time consuming scarf! arrgh. I loved doing the one I crocheted form myself but five more before Christmas along with everything else I have planned?? x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know the feeling ! Good luck with them 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. katekemp2804 says:

    Love the hearts. And the fact you’re so prepared for Christmas already!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you but I don’t feel prepared !!

      Like

  3. Bekki Hill says:

    Lovely bunting. Gifts first for me too then two new stockings I need to make.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have got to get on with the gift making but I have made some stockings but they are for the shop Bekki !!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bekki Hill says:

        You really are going great guns 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Georgia says:

    Love the Christmas decorations! It won’t be long and the big day will be upon us. Looking forward to seeing your hand embroided bunting finished 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Georgia, finishing the bunting today I hope after really messing it up yesterday !!!!

      Like

      1. Georgia says:

        Ooh you must post a picture! I’m so intrigued by embroidery but it looks very complicated so I don’t think I’d be very good!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I will post a picture and the embroidery is mostly back stitch so easy really 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I love making Christmas decorations! Last year I made Merry Christmas bunting and snow globes! This year I may retry the snow globes (they weren’t exactly water tight, oops!) and little fabric baubles to hang on the tree! I love your hearts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I love the idea of making snow globes but yes water tight ones would be best !! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

