Being a busy bee sewing aprons

What a lovely weekend its been and Autumn is well under way.We went for a picnic right out in the countryside on Saturday and walked for a good couple of hours up hill and down dale !! The rest of the weekend was spent sewing Christmas stockings,aprons and more.I love a good apron especially a half apron or pinny as my Grandma called them,I wear them when I am sewing as it saves me having to get all the tiny threads of my clothes before running out the house,all I do is take the apron of and I am ready to go.I also wear one when baking/cooking and dusting,so I have been making some for the shop,starting with this blue and white retro style apron…
walk and apron 018
What do you think ? My 12 year old took the photograph and anyone would have thought I had asked her to bath in mud from the fuss she made.
Now I usually make things for the shop and then think to myself I really would like that for me but I never normally buy enough fabric as I only make one or two of each item to sell in anyone fabric,but yesterday I went and purchased some fabric and when I got to the till it was reduced in price so I bought an extra meter just for me.
fabric 002
Now I knew I wanted to make aprons with the fabric but I didn’t want to make another retro style one so I settled on the cafe style half aprons and made one for myself first to work the right measurements out and I am really pleased with how it has turned out,yes I have to make a few adjustments on the ones I will be making for the shop but other than that it is perfect and even my daughter turned around and said that even she would wear one as it looks like a mini skirt !
cafe apron 011
cafe apron 008
I added a nice large pocket on the front,matching the fabric was a little tricky but worth it.Now the trouble with it is I don’t want to take the apron of,my uniform of jeans just looks so boring without the cafe apron,that I nearly walked out down town wearing it before I remembered I had it on.Later on today I am going to make a couple to add to my shop and then it will be back to finding some more fabric for another style of aprons as I just can’t seem to stop making them.
Well I have got to say bye as my day is going to be a busy one so I hope you all have a great day and thanks for popping by,Tabitha 🙂

11 Comments Add yours

  1. aseparovic says:

    I so love a good apron…and I need one too! I’ll check out your shop when you’ve finished them. Cheers Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s kind of you. I am hopefully listing them tomorrow 🙂 Hope you have a lovely day.

      Like

  2. Bekki Hill says:

    What a great idea to wear an apron when you’re sewing – mind having a blond dog I could really do with one of the forensic suits to pop on over my clothes until I leave the house 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha I have a black cat so I know what you mean 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That blue apron is simply lovely! What a wonderful idea! I love that whole retro vibe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. repurposingjunkie says:

    Love both aprons!! Everyone always needs a pretty apron!! I hope they do great in your shop!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the aprons, the fabrics are gorgeous. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

