Sewing,Cake and Pom-pom making

A few months ago I bought some fabric to make my daughter a bag for school and did not know what to do with the rest of the fabric as it is a little difficult to work with,so I set myself a challenge to make something with it either for myself or my Etsy shop and after some playing around with it (shall I make a table runner with it or another bag) I finally decided to see how it would work using it in bunting and settled on some acorn bunting and made some for my home and will be making some to add to my other buntings in my shop,I used it with some curtain fabric and was pleased with the end result…..
acorn bunting 006
On Saturday we went to the garden centre and they had all their Christmas stock out !!! I swear it gets earlier and earlier each year.Well one of their themes was a homespun Christmas look and I found this lovely acorn decoration for just under Β£4 and purchased it to hang in my window for Autumn with my acorn bunting hanging above it…
acorn bunting 009
Now I do like a pom-pom and want to make a pom-pom garland to go above my bed and thought I would buy a pom-pom maker as I have heard they are so much quicker,but my husband said it would be a waste of money and that I should make them the old fashioned way using card.Well I went along with it and I can tell you I will never again listen to him and will be purchasing a pom-pom maker asap,as it is taking me ages and I am hating it !!! For a starter the circles he kindly cut out for me are going to make a football size pom-pom when I want something a little smaller.
bunt cake and wool 002
I wanted to make a cake but nothing to fancy with expensive ingredients and decided to make up a standard Victoria sponge recipe and add a little cocoa powder and some orange marmalade into the mixture and bake in my bunt tin.When cooled I drizzled over some icing and then some sprinkles I found at the back of the cupboard and do you know it tasted very good like a chocolate orange bar and it keeps well to and has been packed in the children’s lunch boxes and for puddings with a little custard or ice cream alongside…
bunt cake and wool 009
What have you all been baking or sewing lately? I just seem to have an endless list of things on my to make list and rather than going down it seems to be growing longer. Hope you all have a lovely week and thanks for reading, Tabitha πŸ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Your cake sounds amazing! Pom pom makers are great, I still have the one from my childhood πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep think I will get one this weekend πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. katekemp2804 says:

    The cake looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you it was rather tasty πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. That cake looks lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

