Re-purposing some Amazon packaging with fabric and double sided tape

Since my 17 year old got a part-time job we have been having more than a few Amazon deliveries (the cash is burning a hole in his pocket !!) and I thought to myself I can make use of some of this packaging instead of putting it straight into the recycling bin.Now my daughter loves stationary so I thought I would make some files for her to keep writing paper etc in and as I have a whole load of fabric it only made sense to use that but you could use pretty paper,old maps or pages from old picture books the list is endless.
You will need:
double sided tape
fabric
fabric scissors
paper scissors
ruler
the item you are covering (I used the packaging a DVD came in from Amazon)
fabric marker/chalk
Bondaweb
a button
a strong needle and thread
a narrow piece of cord or ribbon
a pencil
folder tutorial 002
1) cut your fabric roughly to size and cover your packaging with double sided tape,the more the better (my daughter had been using mine and she forgot to tell me I had hardly any left).Then before you remove the backing from the tape,work out where is best to start,I found starting at the inside of the flap was best so stuck the fabric down there first.
Then from there you carefully cover bit by bit,tucking in the edges as you go for neatness.You will need to add more tape as you go along.I did make a mistake which you will see in one of the photos,I tucked a corner of fabric on the inside flap the wrong way it should have been tucked under the strip of fabric for neatness (I will correct it when I have more tape)

folder tutorial 004

folder tutorial 005
folder tutorial 006
2) gently smooth out the fabric as you go and at the end you should have something that looks like this
folder tutorial 008
3) now to jazz it up a little. I drew onto some Bondawab a rough tree shape and following the instructions on the packet I ironed it onto some fabric and then onto the front of the file.You could use any colour of fabric but I chose to use the reverse side of the same fabric I used to cover the file with.I think it would also work well using double sided tape to attach your chosen shape to the front of the file you would have to do it this way anyway if not using fabric to cover your file.
folder tutorial 017
4) I wanted something to close the file and decided to use a button and a thin piece of cord.
folder tutorial 009
5) to attach the button I used a strong needle with some embroidery floss and simply sewed the button onto the back of the file where I wanted it,then secured the tread on the inside of the file and then covered mine with a little sticky tape to stop it catching when putting things in and out of the file.Then taking the piece of cord I sewed it to the flap of the file securely and then to tie it you wrap one end around the button bringing it up in a u shape and tying in a bow to secure on the flap.
folder tutorial 014
All done. Now I am going to give this one to my daughter and then make several more of these in different sizes and give as part of a Christmas gift with some lovely stationary.
folder tutorial 012
Right I must get on now I have a bathroom that needs cleaning and some cookies that need baking so thanks for popping by and I do love to hear your comments,Tabitha x

8 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s such lovely idea Tabitha and a great use of what would otherwise go in the bin! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth says:

    Great idea! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Beth šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Fab idea!! Such an easy way to repurpose something that you’d otherwise throw away! Next time I get a delivery I definitely want to try this! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love making them and they are so useful as well šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Georgia says:

    Wow what a clever idea! I love fashionable recycling šŸ™‚ this is really great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Georgia šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

