My two favourite things…Cookies & Fabric

I was meant to have started making my dress for my Christmas Eve party,but I have only got as far as choosing and buying the fabric and finally deciding on the pattern.Now I am scared of making very tailored dresses as that is a little above my skill level at the moment but practice makes perfect,right?

So I have chosen a pattern from my ‘Stylish Dress Book’ by Yoshiko Tsukiori I have made a couple of dresses from it already and have this time decided on the reverse yoke mini dress.I am going to make a couple of changes to it as I do want it to be a little longer,just above my knee and rather than velvet fabric I have a medium weight cotton floral fabric in shades of blue and I am going to use a contrasting black linen fabric for the yoke.It will be the first time I have put sleeves in anything as I usually make sleeveless tunics and layer long sleeved t-shirts underneath !! So tomorrow I am going to copy the pattern out and cut out the fabric so I will be ready to go first thing Monday.

blog 103 002

blog 103 003

blog 103 006

I have been so busy lately the days are just flying by and this morning I had to price and pack up stock to take to my local craft shop as well as mend the straps on my daughters school bag,before she left for school and then I needed to bake so that we would have something sweet in the lunch boxes for tomorrow.So cherry and dark chocolate cookies it had to be as they only take 20 minutes from start to finish and taste delish…

blog 103 010

Today in town there was some pop up craft stalls selling all kinds of lovely handmade goodies including a few of my Christmas buntings,the sun was shining and all the shops and stalls were decorated beautifully for Christmas and I started to feel excited for the holidays.I even did some little bits of Christmas shopping including some lovely handmade pottery that the craft shop has started selling.This year I have bought a lot more handmade items than ever before and have tried to also shop local and I have asked for handmade items from my favourite Etsy shops for myself for under the tree.Do you like to give and receive handmade goodies as gifts? I know a lot of you have been making your gifts this year from reading your blogs.

Anyway I must go as the school is out soon and I know hot chocolate with cream will be asked for as soon as they step through the door (its one of our Christmas traditions,that from the 1st Dec there will be hot chocolate for you) so thanks for having a read and I love reading all your comments,Tabitha x

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Good luck with the dress making

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful fabric choice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you I usually stick to plain fabrics πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Georgia says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished dress! The fabric is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Georgia I can’t wait to get started !!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Georgia says:

        Eek exciting!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. We have the hot chocolate tradition too! Isn’t it lovely! Those cookies look like an awesome accompaniment! Good luck with the dress! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hayley πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

