Sewing rustic style heart garlands

heart garland 010

Friday here was dull and it rained a lot and these days are ideal sewing days for me,the only down side being the poor lighting for those tiny stitches and for taking photographs.

I had an idea a while ago about making some rustic style bunting to hang from my fireplace so I routed around in my fabric stash and found some lovely Tilda fabric,some vintage fabric and other pretty scraps. I knew I didn’t want to go for the normal triangle bunting so I decided to make five hearts and fill them with hollow fibre filling and to make them a little more rustic I decided to stitch around the outside of the hearts which will allow for the edges of the fabric to gently fray a little,then I stitched them onto some jute rather than ribbon to finish them of.

heart garland 005

I was so pleased with the way they turned out that I made another garland in shades of blue…

heart garland 013
blue heart garland
heart bunting 003
blue heart garland

I am planning on making a few more this week and they,along with the blue garland,will be added to my shop in February.

Yesterday I spent a couple of peaceful hours working with wire and paper,which I will show you later on in the week.I am enjoying trying new things,teaching myself new skills and playing with different materials.I like to make something new and then live with it for a week or two before going back to it to see whether I still think it’s any good,what other people think of it or if it needs to go in the bin !

Did any of you have time to be creative over the weekend,if so what did you make/do ? The weekends for me used to be tricky to find time to work on my projects as it was family time all weekend long but now my children are both in their teens,one works on a Saturday and then spends the rest of his time with his friends at the skateboard ramps so it is only my daughter left and she likes some of the day getting on with things she wants to do which is where I find my couple of hours.

Anyway thanks for coming by,Tabitha x

 

 

 

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. They look great, always fun to have a play and learn new skills 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am trying to push myself more this year 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. aseparovic says:

    They’re adorable! And perfect for Valentine’s Day 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you,I had not thought of Valentines day you are right they would be ideal 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Abigail says:

    Those are adorable! And perfect for scraps:D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Abigail 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh I love these! They look fantastic! Perfect for Valentines day…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you,you are the second person to say about Valentines Day,I hadn’t even thought of that,I must be very unromantic !!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I saw that comment after I posted mine!! Haha! I’ve had my head stuck in “Valentines Mode” at the moment as I am making orders for it myself! Usually I am the one who forgets about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Codfanglers says:

    Beautiful garland! And how effective it looks above the fireplace! X

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So cute! I love the blue ones! You have such a great eye for design!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Hayley,I love the blue ones too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. katekemp2804 says:

    These are really lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pretty – as others have said, just right for valentines 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. SewGiddy says:

    These are really cute! What a fun decorating idea! I am going to have to make some with all the fabric scraps I have!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are ideal for fabric scraps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

