Sewing cheerful felt garlands

It is such a grey,dull,wet and windy day here today that I decided to make something cheerful and decorative and I had been meaning to make this garland for awhile now.

I dug out my sheets of coloured felt and cut lots of different size circles out in a range of colours,the brighter the better as I think this garland would look lovely for Spring,Easter or a Birthday party.

felt garland 002

I then stitched them in along line on my sewing machine leaving some with a gap and others without and making sure that I left along piece of cotton at the start and at the end so I had something to tie it up with.felt garland 003

felt garland 012

I made several meters of it and it was a perfect make for a day like today.

felt garland 011

To store it,so it doesn’t tangle when not in use,I covered an old hardback cover of a book in pages from the book and then wrapped the garland carefully around it.

felt garland 018

I am thinking of making some to add to my shop next month in a range of colours.I am going to string some up in my daughters bedroom and in the Summer I will hang some from the trees in the garden and I have a feeling my naughty black cat will have fun playing with it as it blows gently in the wind (oh now I am dreaming of Summer and that just won’t do) anyway back to this dull,wet old day.I am going to make myself a nice cup of tea and watch the film ‘Walk about’ on the telly before getting on with the dusting and what not. Hope you are all enjoying your day and thanks for reading,Tabitha x

12 Comments Add yours

  1. So cheerful looking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jackie 🙂

      Like

  2. Abigail says:

    It brightens up the room!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does doesn’t it 🙂

      Like

  3. Nice and cheerful for a wet and dreary day 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sharon 😊

      Like

  4. Lovely idea and yes, very cheerful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So cute and cheerful, the perfectg antidote to a wet and windy day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The garland does add a splash of colour that’s for sure 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. aseparovic says:

    They’re gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

