Playing with wire !

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I had been experimenting with using wire in some of my makes and I have had some good results and some not so good that I have just thrown straight in the bin. The ones that have worked I have lived with for awhile to see whether I still like them in weeks to come and I am pleased to say that I do….

My favourite makes are these wire moths which look lovely standing in a plant pot. I have made two,one to go on the mantle piece and this morning another one to go in my spider plant.They are so simple in style Β and pretty easy to make all you really need is some florist wire,scraps of paper,double-sided tape,small pliers and a needle and thread…

I used for this moth a selection of colourful papers from an old Molly Makes magazine. You use double-sided tape to hold the papers in place,with the wire sandwiched in-between then you stitch it together up the body of the moth…

moths 011

moths 022

and below is the moth that I made a couple of weeks ago. I used pages from an old book this time and I think it looks effective ….

moths 021

still playing around with wire I made this little wire heart with a paper heart ….

moths 028

I haven’t figured out where to put the wire heart,I think I may use it for a Valentine’s decoration. The book that inspired me to try working with wire was “A year of crafts” by Clare Youngs if you are interested,she covers all kinds of crafts from sewing,to paper crafts and a whole lot more.

Anyway I have a weeks shopping list to write,a house to tidy and goodness what else. I hope you all have an enjoyable weekend,Tabitha x

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Cute! I’ve also seen a wire heart with buttons in πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is no limit with wire πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    I especially like the wire heart. Thanks for telling us about the book

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love both your makes – especially that cheeky moth. Also love that you’ve been playing. Who needs food and a clean house?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha the hubs would say he does !!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Adorable! (Much nicer than real moths!) You’re right, using pages of an old book works really well! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Hayley it doesn’t take much to be better than real moths !!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! Sorry I suppose that wasn’t much of a compliment! They are lovely though. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I didn’t think you meant anything by it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Shanda says:

    This is so cool! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shanda says:

    (my son likes doing origami and now I know what to do with all the little things he makes…tape to a wire and stick them in my plants!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes that’s what you are to do and my cat loves swiping at them so its all fun around here πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

