My First Piece Of Bespoke Work

The other week I was asked by a good customer of mine,if I could do some bespoke bunting for her daughters 5 th Birthday. I said yes straight away and then got to work choosing fabrics and making up the bunting. She wanted it personalised saying “Daisy Is 5 Today” in blue lettering on a purple floral print fabric.We chose this fabric combination….purses 032

I made 16 double-sided flags so when Daisy’s Birthday is over she can turn the bunting around and have pretty floral bunting in her bedroom.

I make a lot of bunting but apart from for myself,I have never made a personalised one as I always looked at what everyone else was selling and thought mine wouldn’t match up to theirs and true mine is different,it’s not perfect looking but that’s ok as I don’t want it to be as my lettering is hand-drawn by me,hand-cut and finally hand-sewn in place by me and I like the way it looks,it may take me longer than if I was using pre-cut letters and machine stitching the lettering in place but I enjoy the process and the love and attention to detail that goes into it…..

new stock 009

and my customer was very pleased with it and thought it was beautiful and that after all is all that matters.

new stock 003

So because of this I have decided to offer personalised bunting in my shopΒ just with floral fabrics at the moment in a choice of pink floral’s or purple floral’s and planning on doing some that is more for boys sometime soon.

purses 032
purple floral’s
purses 031
pink floral’s

I am so glad that I was asked to do this as it took me out of my comfort zone and that can only be a good thing can’t it ?

In other not so interesting news I have finally got around to ordering some labels to sew into my work it has only taken me two years……

purses 023

purses 020

As I have been sitting here writing this I have had the most lovely letter from Cathy over at nanacathy2Β which I will write about in my next blog post but till then a huge thank you to Cathy and those mice put a smile on my face.I can’t believe the kindness and support that I have been shown since starting this blog a year ago it has bought me a lot of happiness and virtual friends that don’t feel virtual at all !!!

Time to go and have a cuppa on this very cold,wet and windy day in West Sussex.

Tabitha πŸ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. justelly1 says:

    I so love the fabrics you choosed πŸ™‚
    Your labels looks like the first I had have. It makes your work more special. I put the label at the end of my work on my sewed things. This shows me NOW ITS DONE !!! Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. On some of my work I will be folding the labels in half then stitching them into the inside seams πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Personalized bunting sounds a brilliant idea. Bet you get loads of orders. Glad you liked the mice!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the labels! And the bunting! I love making personalised bunting, it makes it that much more special for the person I think! Great job! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Hayley πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

