Sewing myself a top without a pattern

Hello I hope you are all having a good week so far.It’s been a bit of a mixed bag here as we have had my eldest turning 18 (how did this happen ?),a party,a hurt foot (my daughter),missing parcels(Birthday presents,so not good) and colds all round.So today I wanted to take my mind of it all and decided to make myself a top from some left over fabric,but I didn’t have a pattern so I found an old top that was past its best but I liked the shape of and I used that as my base.

Firstly I took the top a part and then used these as a kind of pattern remembering to add seam allowances and to make it a little longer.Then I took the plunge and cut my fabric (once it’s cut there’s no going back !) and then I sewed it together like I would any other top,trying it on all the time to make sure I was on the right track,and guess what I was. So after adding some decorative gathering and buttons a few hours later it was done and I am over the moon with it.

top 014

top 015

It’s flattering when its on,no clinging to any lumps and bumps ! and the best bit is that I owned everything to make it so all it cost me is my time.

top 004

I will try to remember to take a picture of the top on but today with a stinking cold,no make-up and hair in a top knot its not a good idea as I may frighten you all !

I will be wearing this top a lot with jeans and a cardigan,with shorts in the summer and I think it may even go well with a fitted skirt.

Any way I am off to blow my nose for the millionth time,so thanks for having a read,

Tabitha x

5 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Really pretty,can’t wait to see you model it. Hope everyone is better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cathy. 🙂

      Like

  2. Lovely top, looks like it will be a great colourful summer wear! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I wore it over this lovely weekend we have just had 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Fab! Hasn’t it been lovely? Great weather to wear it in!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

