Snugly Baby Blanket

A new baby came into the family on my husbands side and I wanted to make her something special.After a lot of thought I decided on a blanket that could be used in many ways including :-

as a pram blanket

a cuddly blanket for when baby is a little older

a blanket to lie on on the grass in the garden on warm days

and finally as a play mat

I made it so it has a cuddly,soft fleece side and a patchwork side made from floral print cottons and cute elephant print cottons with lace details.

It’s comfy,soft,pretty,multi-purpose and handmade with love….

ebay 066

 

 

It turned out better than I had planned (well I didn’t really have a plan) and if I had had the time to make one when my children were small I would have wanted one for them. I am now playing around with another one which when perfected I am thinking of listing in my little shop .

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend.As we went away last weekend we are praying the weather will be good this weekend as we need to get out in the garden and do some much needed weeding and sort out the vegetable patch,this year we are only growing runner beans,peas and tomatoes.Are you growing any of your own fruit and veg ? We would grow more if we had more space and if I didn’t want to grow so many flowers !

Thanks for reading,Tabitha x

6 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Loving the baby blanket. We are waiting for a new baby in the family too, now 5 days late! Love the lilac.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 5 days late,the poor mummy !

      Like

  2. Oh yes, blankets are so useful. Looks lovely – I’m sure they’re delighted with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This blanket is beautiful! How did you put it together? Did you quilt it or sew in inside out? I’d love to make something like this but the mechanics confuse me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really simple I sewed all the patch work squares together,then sewed the fleece backing to the patchwork wrong sides facing,turned in the right way then sewed along the fabric lines to give it a quilted look adding lace trim as I went,then I top stitched around the finished blanket.I made it up as I went along as I am no quilter ( I don’t have the patience ) !!! So really simple Hayley 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

