Baby Burp Cloth Tutorial

I wish I had thought of making these when my two were babies as they are so much better than the useful but boring ones I used (but then I wouldn’t have had the time to make them back then !)

To make one Burp Cloth you will need :

  • terry towelling fabric measuring 9.5 x 16.5 inches
  • soft cotton fabric in your choice of colour measuring 9.5 x 16.5 inches
  • sewing machine
  • scissors
  • matching sewing thread

 

Step one :- Place your 2 pieces of fabric right sides facing making sure all edges match,then pin in place.

burping cloths 011

 

 

Step two :- Machine stitch in place removing the pins as you go. Remember to leave a gap of a couple of inches at one end so you will be able to turn the cloth in the right way.

Step three :- Clip your corners a cross being careful to not cut your stitching then turn in the right way and using something with a blunt end (I use a chop stick) gently push out all four corners then give it a good press with an iron.

burping cloths 012

Step four :- Now you need to top stitch all around the edge which will sew close your gap then you need to machine sew between five – seven straight lines running down your cloth width ways at regular intervals.Trim of all your loose threads and then you are done.

 

 

Such a simple make and they can be as way out there as you like. As mine are for my shop I chose a soft yellow hounds-tooth cotton fabric and a soft grey one. It is best that you pre-wash your fabrics first to allow for any shrinkage.I then made some matching Baby Bandana Bibs to go with the Burp Cloths/Nursing cloths.

 

They all look so sweet tied in their little bundles and would make a lovely gift for a new mum.

burping cloths 028

Anyway dinner needs cooking and after the day I have had I think a glass of wine is in order. Hope you have a fun week and thanks for taking the time to have a read.

Tabitha

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    So sweet and so useful. I used muslin nappies which my mother assured me I would need!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So did I and by the time I had my second baby you had a choice of pink or blue muslin but they did the job and that was good enough for me !

      Like

  2. aseparovic says:

    They look awesome! I wish my little ones were young enough to use them still. Thanks for the tutorial 😊 Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cute! They look lovely in the grey and yellow gingham!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sharon 😊

      Like

  4. Great tutorial! Thanks Tabitha! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hayley 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

