Sewing using vintage patterns

 

I bought some gorgeous fabric the other week one was a 100% cotton with a lovely blue floral pattern Β and the other a poly cotton with cute little strawberries dotted all over it.

I haven’t yet used the floral fabric, I am hopeful that I will be able to use it this weekend,but I have used some of the strawberry fabric to make up one of the Vintage patterns I have for Children’s wear for a simple sleeveless dress for a 3 year old.

 

My least favourite part of making clothes is the time it takes to pin the pattern and cut it out,it is the part where you need way more pins than you think you would and then its the notches and the darts all before any sewing can begin !

Once all that has been done the actual sewing up of the dress went smoothly and I was pleased with the results….

twirly skirt 010

I have since added the same blue bias binding around the hem that I used on the arm holes, and then machine embroidered a pretty pattern onto it the same as my Twirly Skirt in my previous post.

The dress has a zip at the back,a full skirt and darts to the front and back of the bodice.

As the dress is made from poly cotton it washes well and needs very little ironing.

I will be adding this dress to my shop along with my Twirly skirts over the next week or two.

Now the weather has been simply gorgeous and it looks like Summer may be here to stay,the children break up from school soon and that for us means breakfast on the beach,swims in the sea,walks in the countryside,eating alfresco and most importantly FUN !!!

Have a lovely week

Tabitha x

8 Comments Add yours

  1. jennyberlin94gmailcom says:

    Those dresses are so cute! I have done some vintage sewing as well and really enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the style of the vintage children’s patterns but I like to bring them up to date with fabrics & trims etc…

      Like

  2. Such a cute dress, I’m sure it will sell well 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sharon,hope you have a lovely week. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. aseparovic says:

    Such a cute gorgeous little dress!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Amy πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Georgia says:

    How lovely and charming!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Georgia πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

