The Simple Things

Sometimes we just have to remind ourselves of whats important to us as it is so easy to get caught up in this rat race of life. Want is a horrible thing and a horrible word, but so many of us want what we can’t have but once we accept what we do have and stop comparing ourselves to what we think other people have then life is a little easier.

I accept that I am not going to have a lot of money, a brand new car, a big house, a high flying career ( haven’t the drive for that ! ), a large kitchen with all the latest gadgets ( I still can cook and bake as well in my small kitchen as I would if I had a larger one ), travel the world ( I greatly appreciate where I have been and where I will go ),a walk in wardrobe with lots and lots of clothes, the latest phone, laptop etc….. the list can go on.

When you look at what you do have you may be surprised. I listed some of the things that I do have and they are the things that make me who I am and most of the time I like who I am. Some of the things on my list included (in no particular order)  :-

  • my children
  • a happy marriage ( even with the ups and downs )
  • my/our health
  • a roof over my head ( the house that I fell in love with years and years ago and that we were lucky enough to buy. It was my ideal home then and it is my ideal home now, even with leaky a leaky roof ! )
  • my husband works and works hard
  • I have been able to be a stay at home mum for most of the time.
  • I am able to bring in a few extra pennies through doing what I love doing ( sewing )
  • my cat
  • my family
  • seeing my children grow into young adults

I have been making time to bake bread and cakes again weekly …. cake 001

The above cake being a dark chocolate orange cake which gets stickier and tastier over a few days, making it the ideal cake for lunchboxes.

I bought some gorgeous fabric with its bright and colourful hen print which I have been busy making into aprons which will be in my shop by the weekend at the latest.

cake 004

The apron is unlined as its medium weight cotton, linen mix, so very durable and washes well. I am making them in adult and mini me sizes as always.

I also bought some lovely denim fabric which I am planning on making a Japanese/pinafore style apron later on this week but at the moment I am pulled between two patterns so am thinking of combining the two.

We also got some good news this week in that my son has been successful in his interview for Film School and will be starting in September. For a boy who struggled with his exams and we were constantly told by teachers ‘if only he would put his mind to it he could do it’ or ‘he needs to try harder’ I can’t tell you how proud we are of him, over the last 3 years at sixth form he has worked harder than ever and all that work has paid of. He just needed to find what made him tick !

Anyway I have rambled on for long enough now and my bread is due out of the oven and there is the housework that needs doing ( thank goodness I don’t have that large house ).

Have a good remainder of the week, Tabitha

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Congratulations to your son, so deserved from the sound of it. I am in love with the chicken fabric!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

