Bees and pom poms

This week has been yet another hectic week but I did finally have a spare couple of hours to sew a cushion cover which has been on my to do list for sometime now.

I had this lovely piece of bee fabric left over from an apron I made ( remember it Cathy ) and I knew I wanted to make something for my home with it. So after a rummage through my not so small sewing stash, I found some contrasting soft yellow fabric which would be ideal for the back of the cushion and then to finish it of I knew I wanted to use some pom pom trim I had purchased a while back.

cushion and tea towel 003

As this cushion was for myself and a quick make I didn’t mess around with adding a zip, so it was just a simple job of cutting two squares of fabric to size and then placing them right sides together. Then machine stitching around leaving a gap to turn the fabric in the right way.

cushion and tea towel 005

Once the fabric was in the right way I gave it a good iron and then through the gap I had left I added the cushion pad ( easier said than done ) and then I hand stitched the gap up which I can unpick to wash the cover.

The next step and the longest step, was hand stitching on the pom pom trim but was well worth it.

cushion 003

It sits nicely alongside my bargain £1.50 cushions on sale from Dunelm.

What has everyone else been up to this week ?

Tabitha x

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a pretty cushion, plus I love the pom-poms – adds a little extra flair! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hayley 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Oh yes I remember the bees. What a wonderful cushion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

