Baking on the last day of term

I love baking and don’t do enough of it as my daughter tends to do the most of it and she is really good.

I started to teach my children to bake and cook from a very young age, when they were still toddlers, as it was a way of entertaining them and spending quality time with them.

They both enjoyed it and they are both in their teens now and as I said my daughter still bakes but my son isn’t to bothered with the baking side but enjoys cooking in general.

It’s a great life skill, it doesn’t have to be expensive, it’s fun and I am surprised by the amount of young adults that can not cook.

So this morning I got baking shortly after my daughter left to go to school ( last day of term for her ) and by 9 am my house way smelling gorgeous, the cakes were cooling and we have tasty treats for after school.

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE CUP CAKES – a made up recipe but one that works !

4 eggs

soft butter

sugar ( I used granulated as I was out of caster sugar )

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

self raising flour

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

100g white chocolate chopped up ( I love Lidl chocolate )

cupcake cases

Pre heat your oven to 180 oc / gas mark 4

Weigh your eggs this will give you the weight for your butter, sugar and flour.

Cream your butter and sugar together until soft and fluffy.

Add your eggs one at a time and beat well in between each egg adding a little sifted flour if the mixture begins to curdle.

Add your vanilla extract and then sift in your flour and cocoa powder and mix gently together. If the mixture looks a little dry add a splash of milk and mix,

Add your chopped white chocolate and mix.

Put your cupcake cases in a muffin tin and divide out your mixture, as a guide 1 tablespoon per case as you want to allow for rising.

Put in a pre heated oven and bake for 15 minutes then take out and check to see if cooked, you still want them to be a little soft in the middle. You may need to pop them back in for another 3 – 4 minutes or so.

Remove from tin and place on a cooling rack until cool.

Optional – when cool dust with icing sugar.

cake 005

20214607_790311357795828_9193581044178092032_n

What do you like to bake ? Did you or do you, bake with your children ?

Happy baking

Tabitha x

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    I agree , all children should be give the chance to bake. Second son was the only one to keep going, and now he teaches his son. Enjoy those cakes they look lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One is better than none !

      Like

  2. MrsCraft says:

    They look lovely! We bake cupcakes normally as they are so quick.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Cupcakes were our go to cakes all the time when my children were small as they are the ideal size for children and we still love them now.

      Like

  3. teeblogss says:

    I love this post! As someone who works with children I know how much they can enjoy baking. Being able to create something and then eat it is so exciting for them! I love to bake cupcakes and loafs. My favourite being banana bread

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We love banana bread here as well 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

