Our daily bread

Now I would love to have the time to bake bread on a daily basis but sadly that is not to be as I am just to busy and unorganised.

When I was a child my father worked at a local bakers and we had freshly baked bread everyday of the week and at weekends he would make his own bread using all different kinds of flour mixes.

The smell of freshly baked bread brings back to me the comfort and safety of home and I try to bake bread once a week. I don’t have a bread machine and I don’t use organic flours as I just can’t afford to, but the bread still tastes good.

It amazes me that bread flour, water, yeast, salt and butter or sometimes olive oil can make something so tasty that it can turn the plainest meal into a feast for very little money and a very good bicep workout thrown in for good measure !

You don’t even need a bread tin, I have a couple and very rarely use them, a baking sheet is all you really need and time. Time to knead, 10 minutes or so and time for your dough to rise in a warm sunny spot and then a nice hot oven.

In the last week I have made a plain white loaf …..

bread and floral artisan 001

and for tonight’s tea I made two focaccia to go with Nigel Slater’s sausage meatballs …….

bread and floral artisan 030

Do any of you make your own bread ?

I have been busy sewing and photographing a new Japanese style apron to add to my Etsy shop, hopefully tomorrow and have now sold out of all of my artisan style aprons so I have been madly tracking down some more pretty fabrics and am hoping to have at least two made this week as well as a cafe style apron and a new style of apron I am busy working on a pattern for.

bread and floral artisan 024

I think this is probably the prettiest apron I have made. The fabric is from Ikea, somewhere I have never thought of buying fabric from as Ikea is shopping hell for me.

Anyway it is 10.30 at night and I am tired and I have an early start in the morning so thank you for making the time to have a read, Tabitha x

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Fabulous bread and I love the new apron!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

