Handmade notebooks & some Curious Pip !

Well the new year is truly on its way and I am well & truly back on the healthy eating, exercising a lot more and I really do feel so much better already,my energy is back (it was not there at Christmas) so I am no longer fuelled with strong black coffee !

As I said in my last post,I am busy working on new goodies for my Etsy shop for February when I will be adding to my vintage range some children’s books and on the handmade front there will be more half aprons with handy dandy pockets with some frilly bits… and some of these lovely little handmade note books and more, that I have made from a old and tattered book on birds from the 1970’s which I bought from Burpham church a few years back,and I have used some of the pages from it as the covers to the note books and inside there is a mixture of lined and plain paper (taken from my daughters old school books) to jot done notes and make little sketches in.

note books and pip 014

note books and pip 020

I used my old and trusty sewing machine to stitch the pages in and I am very happy with how they have turned out and on the plus side they have made use of an old tattered book that was collecting dust and also make use of all the old school books that we have. Have you re-purposed anything recently ?

I love having pictures/artwork in my house,I have what I refer to as a gallery of artwork as you go up my stairs of all things we like and love as a family,from a sketch my teenage son did of The Woman In Black a few years back to a painting my daughter did when she was 7 to old movie posters and beautiful paintings of Paris that I picked up in a charity shop.They are also nicely framed but not all matching as that is just not for me and every picture is what we like not necessary what is fashionable at the time.I think a stranger could look at that wall and tell a lot about us as people !!

So I am always on the look out for something that catches my eye so when I stumbled upon Curious Pip on Etsy I couldn’t believe my luck,not only does Sarah make the most beautiful dolls,she also draws the most beautiful pictures inspired by the movies stars of the  1930’s (an era that I adore) so I spoke very kindly to the hubs and he bought me a little piece of Curious Pip for Christmas and yesterday I framed it and it now hangs in my sitting-room and makes me smile every time I look at it.

note books and pip 005

I like to think I am the lady with the dark bob and the cat !!!! I can dream can’t I ?

note books and pip 022

It also came with a beautiful Christmas card which took pride of place on my mantle piece over the Christmas period….

note books and pip 013

I think I have waffled on for long enough so thanks for having a read and I love to read your comments,so have a fabulous day,Tabitha x

6 Comments Add yours

  1. The notebooks are great. My theme for the year is re-purposing/upcylcing so I shall be joining you there! The Curious Pip picture is great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Can’t wait to see what you re-purpose/upcycle Sharon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those notebooks are super cute! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hayley.I wanted to try something different 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. aseparovic says:

    What a great idea to use old beautiful book pages to cover notebooks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I like the idea of taking something old & beautiful & turning it into something useful again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment